## **MILBANK SCHOOL DISTRICT**

## COMMUNITY SUPPORTS STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS

## FOUNDATION PROVDING SCHOLARSIHPS FOR NEARLY THREE DECADES

The community of Milbank is very supportive of the schools.

Nowhere is that more evident than through the through the success of the Milbank High School Educational Foundation. The Milbank High School Educational Foundation was chartered as a nonprofit corporation by the State of South Dakota in June of 1986.

The impetus for the creation of the Foundation came from a group of public-spirited Milbank business people. The foundation has grown to a total asset value of approximately \$2 Million, with 28 scholarships totaling over \$140,000 being awarded to Milbank High School seniors in 2014.

The Foundation is managed by a seven-member Board of Directors, who each serve five-year terms. Current board members include Jeff Jones (President), Doug Buri (Vice-President), Chad Nelson (Secretary), Mike Misterek (Treasurer), Russ Fischer, Susan Leddy, and Sue Stengel.

Past board members who have been influential in the development of the foundation include Jack Stengel, Carlon Van Wagner, Rudy Nef, Marwood Wise, Max Gruenwald, Dr. Norm Madsen, Jack Davenport, Jason Seurer, and Camille Reynen.

Recently, the Milbank School Endowment Fund was established to raise funds to create and enhance academic programs within the Milbank School District.

The Milbank School Endowment Fund, an idea created by Marylynne Fields, was established after state funding cuts resulted program cuts in the district.

Fields, who serves as the Endowment Fund President, is the daughter of former, long time Milbank High School Principal Art Campbell. The Endowment Fund has almost doubled in value over the past year and currently has assets totaling approximately \$70,000.

Other School Endowment Fund board members include: Chad Nelson, Tom Goetz, Steve Wenzl, Sid Foshiem, Kirby Hins and Jim Wendland, with Superintendent Tim Graf, Business Manager Nancy Meyer, and High School Principal Dan Snaza serving as advisory board members. Past board members include Kevin Tetzlaff, Chad Thue and Mark Wolff.

