More than 50 school boards earn ALL Award in ’17-18

You are here:

More than 50 school boards earn ALL Award in ’17-18

More than 1/3 of the public school boards in South Dakota earned statewide recognition for their dedicated participation in activities, board development and training and demonstrated leadership at various areas and levels.


In the second year of ASBSD’s board recognition program: ALL, which stands for Act, Learn, Lead, 56 boards in South Dakota earned an ALL award, up from 48 the previous year.


ALL recognized board members’ participation in outside activities, board development and training, and demonstrated leadership at a variety of levels, with points earned by participating in ASBSD activities, training opportunities and demonstrating leadership at the local, state and national level throughout the fiscal year (July 1-June 30), with GAVEL Training and School Board U courses counting for a total of three years.


“School Board members are exemplary public servants and these award winning boards have a proven commitment to their students, parents, staff and community,” ASBSD Executive Director Wade Pogany said.


ALL’s Gold Level earners reached the 500 point level, Silver Level honorees earned 350 points and Bronze Level boards picked up 250 points. Sixteen (15 in 2016-17) school boards achieved Gold Level status, 25 (11) boards were Silver Level honorees and 15 (22) attained the Bronze Level.



Gold member school boards include: Howard, Todd County, Lyman, Deubrook, Newell, Colome Consolidated, White River, Rapid City, Ipswich, Lead-Deadwood, Sioux Falls, Bon Homme, Garretson, Kimball, Montrose and Hot Springs.


Silver level school boards include: Deuel, Yankton, Marion, Eagle Butte, McIntosh, Madison Central, Aberdeen, Oldham-Ramona, Platte-Geddes, Clark, McLaughlin, Wilmot, Edmunds Central, Faulkton Area, Canton, Douglas, Mobridge-Pollock, Pierre, Hill City, Chamberlain, Haakon, Colman-Egan, Lake Preston, Rutland and Stanley County.


Bronze earning school boards include: Mitchell, Sioux Valley, Oglala Lakota County, Parker, Wolsey-Wessington, Gettysburg, Harrisburg, Herreid, Brookings, Faith Edgemont, Lemmon, Hanson, Leola and Langford Area.


“School boards across South Dakota are devoted to enhancing public education in this state and we’re happy to recognize that dedication,” Pogany said.


ASBSD will be distributing the ALL Award plaques to recipients throughout the Fall.


For updates on ALL Award points for the 2018-19 school year, check the ASBSD Blog.

Scroll to Top