More than 90 School Boards earn ALL award

You are here:

More than 90 School Boards earn ALL award

A record number of school boards earned awards in the sixth year of the ALL program.


In 2021-22 91 public school boards – more than 60 percent of the public boards in South Dakota – earned an ALL award, which is ASBSD’s statewide board recognition program and stands for Act, Learn, Lead. The previous high for award earning boards was 77 in 2020-21 and the number reaching an award level has nearly doubled from 48 in the first year of the program in 2016-17.


“School boards take on different tasks and face new challenges every year and these board members put in a lot of work to further their knowledge of and learn new things about school board work that will be a great benefit to their district,” ASBSD Executive Director Wade Pogany said.


“They’ve put in time and effort to better themselves and deserve this recognition.”



Click here to see photos of some of the award earning boards with their award.


Points are awarded for a board’s collective participation in activities and trainings related to board work and for demonstrating leadership in public education at the local, state and national level, throughout the previous school year with the Bronze level being at 250 points, Silver at 350 and Gold at 500.


This past year’s ALL Award earners are listed as six-time award earners, multiple-time award earners and first time award earners.


Six-Time Award Earners (Level Earned in 2021-22): Aberdeen (Silver), Deuel (Gold), Douglas (Silver), Eagle Butte (Gold), Harrisburg (Bronze), Hot Springs (Gold), Howard (Gold), Lead-Deadwood (Gold), Lemmon (Gold), Madison Central (Gold), McLaughlin (Gold), Mobridge-Pollock (Silver), Newell (Gold), Platte-Geddes (Bronze), Rutland (Silver), Sioux Falls (Gold), Todd County (Gold) & White River (Silver).


Multiple-Time Award Earners (Level Earned in 2021-22 – Number of Times Won an Award): Alcester-Hudson (Bronze – Third), Andes Central (Bronze – Third), Arlington (Silver – Third), Baltic (Bronze – Second), Bison (Bronze – Third), Bon Homme (Gold – Fifth), Brookings (Silver – Fifth), Canton (Bronze – Fourth), Castlewood (Silver – Second), Chamberlain (Gold – Fourth), Clark (Silver – Fifth), Colman-Egan (Bronze – Third), Colome Consolidated (Silver – Fifth), Custer (Gold – Fifth), Dakota Valley (Bronze – Second), De Smet (Bronze – Third), Dell Rapids (Silver – Third), Deubrook Area (Gold – Fifth, Dupree (Gold – Second), Edgemont (Gold – Fourth), Edmunds Central (Bronze – Third), Elk Point-Jefferson (Silver – Fourth), Estelline (Bronze – Second), Faulkton Area (Gold – Fifth), Flandreau (Gold – Third), Freeman (Gold – Second), Garretson (Gold – Fifth), Gettysburg (Gold – Fourth), Gregory (Silver – Third), Haakon (Gold – Fifth), Hanson (Bronze – Second), Hill City (Gold – Fifth), Huron (Bronze – Third), Kimball (Gold – Fifth), McCook Central (Bronze – Second), Meade (Gold – Fifth), Menno (Silver – Fourth), Miller (Silver – Second), Mitchell (Gold – Fourth), Montrose (Silver – Fifth), Northwestern Area (Silver – Second), Parkston ((Bronze – Second), Rosholt (Silver – Second), Scotland (Gold – Fourth), Spearfish (Silver – Second), Stanley County (Silver – Third), Vermillion (Bronze – Second), Wagner Community (Gold – Third), Wall (Gold – Third), Waverly (Gold – Third), Wessington Springs (Gold – Third), West Central (Silver – Second), Willow Lake (Silver – Third), Wolsey-Wessington (Silver – Third) & Woonsocket (Bronze – Third).


First-Time Award Earners (Level Earned in 2021-22): Agar-Blunt-Onida (Silver), Armour (Silver), Bennett County (Bronze), Bowdle (Silver), Burke (Silver), Canistota (Gold), Chester Area (Silver), Groton Area (Bronze), Hoven (Bronze), Lennox (Bronze), Mount Vernon (Bronze), Plankinton (Gold), Redfield (Bronze), Tea Area (Bronze), Timber Lake (Bronze), Tri-Valley (Bronze), Warner (Bronze) & Winner (Bronze).


“South Dakota public school boards do amazing work and put in a great deal of effort for their students, staff and community members and for 91 of them to earn this honor is a testament to that effort,” Pogany said.


If you would like to know how many ALL points your board has earned thus far, contact Director of Communications Tyler Pickner at

Scroll to Top