Record number of boards earn ALL awards in 2019-20

You are here:

Record number of boards earn ALL awards in 2019-20

A record number of school boards earned an ALL Award in 2019-20 school year.


In the fourth year of ASBSD’s board recognition program: ALL, which stands for Act, Learn, Lead, 66 school boards earned a Gold, Silver or Bronze award. In 2018-19 52 school boards earned an award, in 2017-18 56 boards and in 2016-17 48 board.


“Each year South Dakota’s school board members take it upon themselves to enhance their knowledge of board work and having the highest number of ALL Award earning boards in the history of the program, really emphasizes that point,” ASBSD Executive Director Wade Pogany said.


ALL recognized board members’ participation in outside activities, board development and training, and demonstrated leadership at a variety of levels, with points earned by participating in ASBSD activities, training opportunities and demonstrating leadership at the local, state and national level throughout the fiscal year (July 1-June 30), with GAVEL Training counting for a total of three years.


ALL’s Gold Level earners reached the 500 point level, Silver Level honorees earned 350 points and Bronze Level boards picked up 250 points. Twenty-two school boards achieved Gold Level status, 18 boards were Silver Level honorees and 26 attained the Bronze Level.



Gold member school boards: Howard, McLaughlin, Deubrook Area, Madison Central, Flandreau, Hill City, Gregory, Lyman, Colome Consolidated, Todd County, Montrose, Rapid City, Eagle Butte, Yankton, White River, Custer, Sioux Falls, Deuel, Aberdeen, Hot Springs, Meade and Newell.


Silver member school boards: Sisseton, Edgemont, Oldham-Ramona, Wilmot, Bon Homme, Dell Rapids, Florence, Marion, Herreid, Platte-Geddes, Lead-Deadwood, Kimball, Wagner Community, Chamberlain, Scotland, Haakon, Lemmon and Wessington Springs.


Bronze member schools boards: Sioux Valley, Oglala Lakota County, Menno, Arlington, Mobridge-Pollock, Rutland, Woonsocket, Faulkton Area, Pierre, Waverly, Wall, Clark, Ipswich, Willow Lake, Freeman, Harrisburg, Huron, Douglas, Bison, Lake Preston, Andes Central, Garretson, McIntosh, Brookings, De Smet and Dupree.


“We’re pleased to be able to recognize the efforts of these school boards who are going above and beyond to enhance their knowledge of school board work,” Pogany said.


ASBSD will provide an update on the 2020-21 ALL award winners in January of 2021, but if you’d like to know your board’s progress at any time, please contact Tyler at or at 605-881-3791.

Scroll to Top