ALL awards earned by more than half of public school boards

You are here:

ALL awards earned by more than half of public school boards

More than half of the public school boards in South Dakota earned an ALL Award in the 2020-21 school year.


In the fifth year of ASBSD’s board recognition program: ALL, which stands for Act, Learn, Lead, 77 school boards, a program record, earned a Gold, Silver or Bronze award. In 2019-20 66 school boards earned an award, in 2018-19 52 boards, in 2017-18 56 boards and in 2016-17 48 board.


“We want to congratulate the ALL Award winning school boards who utilized the previous school year to broaden their knowledge of school board work, which will undoubtedly benefit their students, staff and community,” ASBSD Executive Director Wade Pogany said.


“In a school year unlike any other in terms of challenges local school boards faced, we’re thrilled to recognize the time, effort, commitment and leadership put forth by public board members.”


ALL recognized board members’ participation in outside activities, board development and training, and demonstrated leadership at a variety of levels, with points earned by participating in ASBSD activities, training opportunities and demonstrating leadership at the local, state and national level throughout the fiscal year (July 1-June 30), with GAVEL Training counting for a total of three years.


ALL’s Gold Level earners reached the 500 point level, Silver Level honorees earned 350 points and Bronze Level boards picked up 250 points. Thirty-three school boards achieved Gold Level status, 25 boards were Silver Level honorees and 19 attained the Bronze Level.



Gold member school boards: Deuel, Howard, Hill City, Eagle Butte, Todd County, Edgemont, Meade, Flandreau, Douglas, Gregory, Madison Central, McLaughlin, Faulkton Area, Rutland, Custer, Wessington Springs, Deubrook Area, Hot Springs, Newell, Harrisburg, Clark, Miller, Lemmon, Northwestern Area, Andes Central, Elk Point-Jefferson, Haakon, Aberdeen, Florence, Kimball, Yankton, Sioux Falls, De Smet.


Silver member school boards: Brookings, Montrose, Oldham-Ramona, Platte-Geddes, Colome Consolidated, Wagner Community, Estelline, White River, Bon Homme, Belle Fourche, Dell Rapids, Menno, Spearfish, West Central, Parkston, Sisseton, Herreid, Langford Area, Mobridge-Pollock, New Underwood, Wall, Lead-Deadwood, McCook Central, Alcester-Hudson and Willow Lake.


Bronze member schools boards: Rapid City, Arlington, Highmore-Harrold, Vermillion, Garretson, Scotland, Waverly, Bison, Castlewood, Dakota Valley, Henry, Frederick Area, Wilmot, Gettysburg, Beresford, Rosholt, Baltic, Leola and Marion.


“A big thank you to all schools board for their work throughout the 2020-21 school year and for the school years to come,” Pogany said.


If you’d like to know your board’s ALL Award progress at any time, please contact Tyler at or at 605-881-3791.

Scroll to Top