Delegate Assembly approves priorities, positions and resolutions

You are here:

Delegate Assembly approves priorities, positions and resolutions

Delegates from78 member districts of ASBSD gathered in Pierre last week to debate and vote on the legislative priorities, standing positions and resolutions that will guide the Association during the 2014 legislative session.


Four legislative resolutions were tabbed as priorities for ASBSD’s advocating efforts. The priorities are:

  1. C1 School Finance : School Funding – supports state funding that meets the standard established by law;
  2. C7 School Finance: $4,805 – supports an increase to no less than $4,805 for the per-student allocation (PSA) for the 2014-15 school year. This year’s PSA is set at $4,626;
  3. A4 Achievement and Equity: Common Core Academic Standards – supports the standards with the belief the state has a workable plan in place to provide the necessary resources and professional development to assist with implementation.
  4. C9 School Finance: Two Percent Index Factor – supports a statutory increase of two-percent be applied to the per-student allocation each year, with the possibility for an additional increase.


The four priority resolutions were passed along with 31 additional resolutions (click here to review) by Delegates. Six new resolutions were added this year to bring the entire package to 35 total resolutions.


New resolutions focus on school employee compensation, extending the number of hours in the school year on an annual scale, district policy on the Pledge of Allegiance, activities association transparency and accountability, a PSA increase to $4,805 for the 2014-15 school year, capital outlay flexibility reduction and an annual increase to the PSA’s index factor of two percent.


Delegates approved amendments to ASBSD’s 11 standing positions (click here to review), as well.


Five unopposed candidates declared their intention to seek an open ASBSD Board of Director’s position that represents the region and enrollment category their district is classified in during Delegate Assembly.

Delegates have the option to suspend the election rules and declare the unopposed candidates as elected.


Each unopposed candidate was approved for the open position they sought. New Board of Directors members include:

  • Central Region, 266-699: Eric Stroeder – Mobridge-Pollock School District
  • Central Region, 1,400-9,999: Melissa Whipple – Todd County School District
  • Southeast Region, 700-1,399: Lisa Engels – West Central School District
  • Western Region, 265 and Under: Mary Williams – Wall School District
  • Western Region, 1,400-9,999: Bryan Bauer – Douglas School District


An election will be held for the Western Region’s seat representing districts in the 700-1,399 enrollment category. Candidates include Jean Helmer of Belle Fourche and Orson Ward of Lead-Deadwood.


Ballots for the election will be sent by ASBSD to each Western Region school district in December.

Scroll to Top