Meet the House Education Committee

You are here:

Meet the House Education Committee

The House Education committees gaveled in for the first time on Wednesday.


The education-centric committee, which held introductory meetings this week to meet Secretary of Education Melody Schoop and Board of Regents Executive Director Jack Warner, will hold much of ASBSD’s committee focus during session.


To understand the inner-workings of the committee, let’s get to know a little bit about the members.


House Education (convenes on Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 7:45 a.m.)


The 15-member committee returns everyone from last year’s group, which featured eight first-time legislators.


Rep. Jacqueline Sly (District 33) is the Committee Chair and a Majority Whip. Chairwoman Sly, a retired teacher with 37 years of experience, chaired the 2013 interim committee that studied school funding.


Rep. Jenna Haggar (District 10) serves as the Committee’s Vice Chair. Haggar, a chiropractic assistant, is a two-term legislator and served on the 2013 interim committee that studied school funding.


Rep. Julie Bartling (District 21) makes the 2014 legislative session her 12th year, having previously served from 2001-04 in the House and 2005-10 in the Senate. Bartling is the Assistant Minority Leader in the House.


Rep. Blaine Campbell (District 35) is in his second year in the legislature. Hailing from Rapid City, Campbell is a subcontractor in the technology industry.


Rep. Scott Ecklund (District 25) begins his second year in the legislature this year. Ecklund is a family physician with 30 years as an Associate Professor at the University of South Dakota Medical School.


Rep. Paula Hawks (District 9) in the second year of her first term as a legislator. Hawks lives in Hartford and taught a high school science and technology in the West Central School District for 10 years.


Rep. Timothy Johns (District 31), a second year legislator, is the Lead-Deadwood School District’s attorney. In addition to House Education, Rep. Johns also serves on the Judiciary committee.


Rep. Dan Kaiser (District 3), a second year legislator, is a war veteran with 10 years of law enforcement service.


Rep. Elizabeth May (District 27) returns to the legislature for her second year. May, a former educator, is currently a ranch and business owner in Kyle.


Rep. Ray Ring (District 17) begins his second year in the legislature in 2014. Ring was an Economics Professor at the University of South Dakota for 33 years.


Rep. James Schaefer (District 26B) is a two-term legislator, who served on the education committee in his first term. Now a rancher outside of Kennebec, Schaefer has seven years of teaching experience.


Rep. Mike Stevens (District 18) makes his way to the legislature for the year number two of his term. Stevens previously served 22 years on the Yankton School Board.


Rep. Burt Tulson (District 2) returns to Pierre for his fourth year as a legislator. A retired contractor, Tulson serves as a substitute teacher.


Rep. Kathy Tyler (District 3), a former middle school teacher, enters year two of her legislative tenure in 2014. Tyler served as a school board member for 13 years. The District 3 Representative was a member of the 2013 interim committee that studied school funding, as well.


Rep. Hal Wick (District 12) 2014 marks his 20th year in a legislative career that has spanned five decades. Wick is a retired small business owner from Sioux Falls.


For updates from the committee, bookmark and read the ASBSD Blog and follow the ASBSD Bill Tracker page for information on legislation.

Scroll to Top