Tech school governance board bill bound for Gov.

You are here:

Tech school governance board bill bound for Gov.

Gov. Dennis Daugaard will receive the bill creating the governing board for postsecondary technical institutes.


Senate Bill 65, which establishes the South Dakota Board of Technical Education and revises certain provisions for CTE and tech institutes, passed House State Affairs committee and House floor recently.


ASBSD supports the bill, which still provides local control to the local boards of education in the school district in which the tech institutes reside.


“They (local school boards) have been on board with this transition from the start,” ASBSD Executive Director Wade Pogany testified during the bill’s hearing before the Senate Education committee.


SB 65 is a product of the passage of Amendment R during the general election in November and will have a representative from the state’s four technical institutes – Lake Area Technical InstituteMitchell Technical InstituteSoutheast Technical Institute and Western Dakota Technical Institute –  fill an appointed seat on the newly established oversight board.


In addition to the representation from the tech institutes, five other members, representing different geographic regions of the state, as well as different industries, will have a seat on the board, , which obtains oversight from the South Dakota Board of Education.


All seats on the oversight board are appointed by Gov. Daugaard, who is expected to sign the bill into law.


For updates on legislative session, check the ASBSD BlogTwitter feed and Bill Tracker.

Scroll to Top