2023 ASBSD Board of Director’s elections

You are here:

2023 ASBSD Board of Director’s elections

The 2023 election cycle for the ASBSD Board of Directors is about to begin and seats in the following regions and enrollment categories will be up for election:

Central region with enrollment 700-1,399

  • Chamberlain, Eagle Butte & Winner

Northeast region with enrollment 265 & Under

  • Arlington, Big Stone City, Doland, Estelline, Frederick Area, Henry, Hitchcock-Tulare, Iroquois, Lake Preston, Langford Area, Leola, Rosholt, Summit, Waubay, Waverly & Wilmot

Southeast region with enrollment 265 & Under

  • Armour, Avon, Canistota, Corsica-Stickney, Marion, Montrose, Mount Vernon, Sanborn Central, Scotland, Tripp-Delmont, White Lake & Woonsocket

Southeast region with enrollment 266-699

  • Alcester-Hudson, Andes Central, Baltic, Bon Homme, Bridgewater-Emery, Centerville, Chester Area, Colman-Egan, Elk Point-Jefferson, Ethan, Freeman, Garretson, Gayville-Volin, Hanson, Howard, Irene-Wakonda, Kimball, McCook Central, Menno, Oldahm-Ramon-Rutland, Parker, Parkston, Plankinton, Platte-Geddes, Viborg-Hurley & Wessington-Springs

Western region with enrollment 700-1,399

  • Belle Fourche, Custer, Hot Springs and Lead-Deadwood

All school board members from districts in the region and enrollment category are eligible to run for the open Board of Director’s seat.


The official timeline of the ASBSD Board of Director’s election is as follows: notification of open seats made in December and January, candidates submit announcement of candidacy form by February 17, ballots distributed in March, the election occurs March-May, districts informed of results in June and newly elected board members taking their seats in August at the annual ASBSD-SASD Convention.


The ASBSD Board of Directors consists of 18 ASBSD Region Directors elected to four-year terms.


If you have questions, please contact Director of Communications Tyler Pickner at tpickner@asbsd.org or at 605-773-8382.

Scroll to Top