ASBPT Board of Directors & Advisory Committees

ASBPT Protective Trust Board

ASBPT, which was established by local boards through a joint powers agreement, is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors consisting of local board members from school districts that participate in one or more of the three insurance pools that are designed and deployed to provide high quality insurance coverage to meet the diverse needs of local school districts.

Eric Stroeder, Mobridge-Pollock, ASBSD President – Term: 08/2020-08/2021

Craig Lee, Huron, Health – Term: 7/1/2019-7/1/2022

Susan Humiston, Edgemont, Property/Liability – Term: 7/1/2017-7/1/2020

Vacant Position, Property/Liability – Term: 7/1/2018-7/1/2020

Dan Nickelson, Frederick Area, Workers’ Comp – Term: 7/1/2019-7/1/2022

Anita Peterson, Haakon, Workers’ Comp – Term: 7/1/2017-7/1/2020

Wade Pogany, ASBSD Executive Director

ASBPT Advisory Committees

Administrative Advisory Committees are responsible for advising ASBPT with respect to the needs of school districts concerning coverage for each fund.


Susan Humiston, Edgemont, ASBPT Board of Directors

Chad Blotsky, Todd County, Business Manager

Lory DuFrain, Wagner Community, Business Manager

Terry Gerber, Canton, Superintendent

Dan Leikvold, Lead-Deadwood, Superintendent

Barb Littel, Dell Rapids, Business Manager

Darla Mayer, Pierre, Business Manager


Craig Lee, Huron, ASBPT Board of Directors

Kelly Christopherson, Huron, Business Manager

Workers’ Comp

Anita Peterson, Haakon, ASBPT Board of Directors

Chad Blotsky, Todd County, Business Manager

Steve Culhane, Mitchell, Business Manager

Tom Janish, Aberdeen, Business Manager

Dan Martin, Timber Lake, Superintendent

Monte Nipp, Langford Area, Superintendent

Summer Schultz, Dell Rapids, Superintendent